Join us for a guided tour of the UWC’s home base, Ralph Connor House Historic Site. Located at 54 West Gate in Winnipeg’s Armstrong’s Point neighbourhood, this mansion was built in 1914 by one of Canada’s most prolific novelists at the time, Rev. Charles William Gordon, who wrote under the pen name Ralph Connor.
The estate’s exterior is a prime example of the Jacobethan Revival style of architecture with its characteristic red tapestry brick with limestone dressings, stone mullions, and bay windows. The interior is rich with quarter cut oak woodwork, mahogany panelling, and six fireplaces. The central hanging light in the McWilliams Room was designed by the Tiffany Studio in New York. Several pieces of furniture and decor items remain from the original owners.